Rave Reviews Log: Science Fiction

June 19, 2008


By Margaret Peterson Haddix
Rating: 4 1/4 stars

This is the first book in the brand new The Missing series. Jonah is adopted and he has no problem with that until the day he gets a letter in the mail with no return address or signature that reads "You are one of the missing." The next letter says "Beware! They're coming back to get you." When he discovers his friend Chip is also adopted and getting the same letters, Jonah thinks it is a prank. But then the pair discover somehow, the FBI is involved, and as they begin to dig into the mystery, with the help of Jonah's sister Katherine, weird things begin to happen. People appear and disappear out of thin air. A file from the FBI has the name of 36 kids--all adopted, all moving into the same suburb area. The kids meet with a woman named Angela who was there the night a plane filled with babies landed mysteriously at the airport with no one else aboard and thinks it has to do with time travel. Can time travel be possible? Could they be children from another time? The future? The past? As some of the pieces begin to fall into place, Jonah realizes he and all of the other adopted kids from that plane are in grave danger. Can they solve this puzzle before the enemy gets to them? A real pageturner from an author who is a true master at drawing readers into her plot. Fans of her previous series, The Shadow Children, will be happy to dive into her new offering and will eagerly await book 2.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home